• Home
  • 2021 ATA Distinguished Topical Philatelist Nominations Are Now Being Accepted

2021 ATA Distinguished Topical Philatelist Nominations Are Now Being Accepted

September 09, 2020 6:25 PM | Anonymous

It is the hope of the DTP Selection Team that individuals, study units and chapters will actively consider nominating an individual for this very prestigious recognition. The Distinguished Topical Philatelist for 2021 will be the highest award ATA presented in Great American Stamp Show scheduled for August 12-15, 2021, in Rosemont, (Chicago) IL. This is a joint show of the American Philatelic Society, The American Topical Association and the American First Day Cover Society.

This recognition is bestowed upon a person who has made significant contributions to topical philately and to ATA in particular. The letter of nomination should detail the person’s contribution to philately – in particular, topical philately. You are particularly urged to consider a person who has been active in one of the ATA Units.

The Distinguished Topical Philatelist award was established in 1952 by the late ATA founder Jerome (Jerry) Husak. Since then 122 people have received the honor. Recipients have included residents of the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and Italy. Find a complete listing of past winners at our website. The special url is: americantopicalassn.org/awardsdtp.shtml.

There were two winners for the 2020 award. They were Wayne Youngblood of Prairie du Sac, WI, and Jack Congrove (deceased) of Fort Lewis, WA.

Wayne is the editor of Topical Time and is responsible for guiding the magazine to an increase in the philatelic content and a new fresh look. He has lead the way to making Topical Time into a true electronic basis making electronic publication possible including a magazine archive, full color and electronic subscriptions. He is also editor or on the board of numerous philatelic publications.

Jack was very active in many different philatelic activities. He was instrumental in obtaining World Series of Philately status for the Seattle Philatelic Exhibition (SEAPEX) and served as president of the SEAPEX board. He was an accomplished editor and edited Biophilately, Federated Philatelist, and other publications. He had a Grand Award exhibit on Alexander Hamilton.

Nominations for the 2021 award should be sent to DTP Chairperson, Myron Molnau – 1616 E 32nd Court – Spokane, WA 99203-3918. Deadline for nomination is December 31, 2020.

©2019 - 2021, American Topical Association. All Right Reserved.
The American Topical Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.
Post Office Box 2143, Greer, SC 29652-2143.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software